The church in Merthyr Cynog was built in the twelfth or thirteenth century, and in the fourteenth century was enlarged by a chancel. According to tradition, it was the burial place of Saint Cynog, son of Brychan, who founded a settlement here about 500 AD. In the taxatio list of 1291, it was called the “Ecclesia de Merthir” with a total income of as much as 30 pounds, which made it a unique temple. In the years 1860-1862, a thorough renovation of the building was carried out.
The church consists of a very long, rectangular nave, without a separate chancel. From the west side there is a massive, four-sided tower, which appearance, including very thick walls, gives assumptions about its defensive functions. It comes from the Norman period, but its crowning in the form of a parapet and battlement on the corbels, was rebuilt in the fifteenth or sixteenth century. The portal leading to the stairs also has late medieval features. From the north-east side the tower has a projection in the wall, housing a staircase. The southern entrance to the nave is preceded by a medieval porch. Inside there is valuable oak rood screen from the 14th century, separating the nave from the presbytery.
Website cpat.demon.co.uk, Church of St Cynog, Merthyr Cynog.