The church in Llanelieu was built in the thirteenth century, and in the fifteenth century it was rebuilt. In the sixteenth century, it was additionally enriched with a porch on the south side. Its renovation was carried out at the beginning of the twentieth century, unfortunately by the occasion an ugly bell tower on the west side was added.
The church was built of sandstone and slate used for the construction of the roof. It is a simple building on a rectangular plan, without a separate chancel, with a sixteenth-century porch from the south. On its eastern side, there is a bricked up, original portal from the 13th century, and further to the east an entrance portal for the priest. Inside the nave from the presbytery separates the unique rood screen from the fourteenth century. Painted in a distinctive red color, it has an attic and quatrefoil-shaped openings. On the walls of the church have also survived polychromes, some of which (for example Adam and Eve) are dated to the Middle Ages. The stones of the 7th-9th centuries are based on the outer wall of the porch. Despite the wear, the Celtic crosses are clearly visible on them. Worth noting is also a stone sundial from 1686 located on the outer, southern wall.
Wooding J., Yates N., A Guide to the churches and chapels of Wales, Cardiff 2011.
Website coflein.gov.uk, St Ellyw’s church, Llanelieu.
Website wikipedia.org, St Ellyw’s Church, Llanelieu.