The church together with a free standing belfry was built in 1264 from the foundation of prince Bolesław the Pious. During its history, it has been renovated, renewed and expanded many times. In the eighteenth century, the gable of the temple was rebuilt in the baroque style and a ridge turret was added. The church was renovated in the early 20th century, when the roof was changed from shingles to zinc and wooden floors to the cement floor. From the south side, the sacristy and the porch were added.
The church was a romanesque building erected from field stones, later rebuilt with a brick. The orientated, aisleless temple was erected on a rectangular plan, with a narrower chancel ended by a straight wall. There is an original, richly profiled romanesque window with a four-leafed pattern. Unfortunately, the church lost its original stylish features as a result of the rebuildings.
The church had external defensive circuit, presumably in the form of an earth or wood-and-earth ramparts. The free-standing bell tower next to it is unique in the sacred art of Poland. It was built from field stones on a square plan. It has four semicircularly closed, narrow windows. It retained its original character.