The Church of St. Adalbert was built in the years 1231-1242 from the foundation of the bishop Wisław, the coat of arms of Zabawa, originating from Kościelec. At the end of the sixteenth century, it was ravaged by Polish Brothers and then abandoned for a long time. Rebuilt was carried out only in the 17th century, thanks to the efforts of priest Maciej Molęda. In the years 1628-1634, the walls of the side aisles were rebuilt, and the tower was liquidated, sinking it into a block of the corpus. On the place of timber ceilings, the baroque vault and the baroque top of the façade were introduced, unfortunately, no original window has been preserved. A new porch was added next to the southern wall of the church.
Church of St. Adalbert was built as a three-nave basilica, ended by a semicircular apse, which is unique in rural parish churches in Poland. Romanesque parts are made of limestone blocks, later supplemented with bricks. The corpus had three bays, and the chancel had two. Originally, on the sides of the chancel, there were two towers.
Despite significant transformations, the original romanesque church parties have survived to this day, including the main galleries, that is matronea, that run around the nave, opened to it by triforiums. The twin columns placed in them have a rich decoration of capitals. The most representative element of the interior design is the impressive entrance portal preserved to this day. It is a three-stepped portal with three pairs of columns partly covered with flat carved floral motifs, and with a triple archivolt with a similar sculptural decoration.
Jarzewicz J., Kościoły romańskie w Polsce, Kraków 2014.
Krasnowolski B., Leksykon zabytków architektury Małopolski, Warszawa 2013.