For the first time, Bochotnica is mentioned by written sources in 1317. The castle itself was probably built around the middle of the 14th century by the Firlej family after the Mongol invasion of the Lublin region in 1341. It is mentioned in the document of the sale of a defensive residence, by Jan of Bejsce in 1399. In the 60s of the 15th century, the castle passed into the hands of Zbąsk, then Oleśnicki and Samborzecki families. In 1585, it was already described, as an object so damaged that it threatened with ruin. It is not known when it was finally abandoned. The destruction was completed by the landslides of the north and east sides of the castle hill in the 19th century.
In the first phase, in the 14th century, a castle with perimeter walls was erected from the local stone, on the plan of an elongated polygon. Along the northern section of the walls stood a one-bay, residential building. The entrance was in the southern section of the wall. The gate was probably preceded by a drawbridge over a dry moat. In the second phase, at the turn of the fifteenth and sixteenth century, a second house with three floors was erected from stone and brick. It was situated along the southern wall curtain. The new entrance gate was located in the south – west corner.
Currently, the castle in Bochotnica is a picturesque ruin, which unfortunately does not say much about its original appearance. Only two fragments of the walls survived, namely the southern wing with window openings and the relics of the older northern part.
Leksykon zamków w Polsce, L.Kajzer, S.Kołodziejski, J.Salm, Warszawa 2003.